Throw Yourself a Party!

tiny partyFriends, something extraordinary has happened: I’ve received a royalty check. Not for $10. Not for $20. But for $30 whole dollars. And it’s all because of all you folks who purchased my fiction chapbook Pyrophitic.

Thirty bucks may not seem like a whole lot to my younger self, who dreamed of literary fame and fortune (such dreams being an occupational hazard of nearly anyone who writes). But I’m reminded of what Pauls Toutonghi, a writer I admire, told me at a recent reading: Virginia Woolf threw herself a party for selling as many copies as his NYC publisher considered his latest book a bust for. I told him that “throw yourself a party” is basically my literary M.O. these days.

And why not? In today’s publishing climate, victories of virtually any type are hard-won in the extreme.

So, yeah–I threw myself a party for publishing a 30-page chapbook. Now I’m throwing myself a (virtual) party for having amassed $30 in royalties. And you know what? You’re invited. In fact, you’re the reason there’s a party in the first place.

And if you’ve got some tiny hardwon victory to celebrate, consider throwing yourself a party too.  I’d like nothing better than to party with you. =)

Here’s a round up of fresh publications and appearances I have coming up:

  • The first story in my novel-in-stories Hot Season is featured in the Spring 2014 issue of Weber: The Contemporary West. “The Circus on 2nd Street” appears alongside some truly excellent poetry, prose, and art, including an interview with Pam Houston. It’s available for $10 as a back issue under the Rate Information tab.
  • The story that finishes Hot Season, “Dead Man’s Revival” has been accepted for publication in the debut issue of Milkfist, a print and online magazine “dedicated to showcasing the abscessed underbelly of literature, poetry, art, and nonfiction” (so, you know, my work fits right in). The piece will appear in their roughly 100-page perfect-bound print journal (and in ebook form) in the spring of 2015. More on this later.
  • A literary sci fi story of mine, “Love Potion #369” (which some of you read an excerpt from on PDXX) has been accepted for publication by the Clackamas Literary Review. I’ll let you know when this becomes available.
  • I’ll be the featured writer in Conversations with Writers on Monday, November 24 from 7:00-8:40 PM at the Hillsboro Main Branch library on Brookwood (Hillsboro, OR). I’ll be performing poetry by Emily Dickinson and Pablo Neruda as was all some of my own. I’ll also be talking about the many pleasures and benefits of memorizing poetry (your own and that of other poets) in the digital age.
  • It is with the greatest of glee I announce today that I will once again be an attending professional at Norwescon, the Northwest’s premier gathering of sci fi and fantasy geeks. Lemme know if you want me to say hey to George R. R. Martin and Boris Vallejo, yo!

Now as ever, thanks for partying with me.

3 thoughts on “Throw Yourself a Party!

  1. This is good timing for me. I was just thinking about baby steps, how I have to MAKE myself do the little things (spend 10 minutes sketching, fit in a few minutes of writing each day, etc.), even though they look nothing like the Big Dreams I have in my head. Thanks to your post, I’m thinking I ought to throw myself a party once I’ve accomplished enough baby steps … let’s say 10 days of consistent baby steps and I get a party. Yay!

  2. This is good timing for me. I was just thinking about baby steps, how I have to MAKE myself do the little things (spend 10 minutes sketching, fit in a few minutes of writing each day, etc.), even though they look nothing like the Big Dreams I have in my head. Thanks to your post, I’m thinking I ought to throw myself a party once I’ve accomplished enough baby steps … let’s say 10 days of consistent baby steps and I get a party. Yay!

  3. Pingback: Fiction Benediction | SDeFreitasTimmons

Leave a Reply

